the first week of december…

 

and we have no card from you

of course you are dead of course

 

yours, brother, was suicide

but the loneliness…

 

yours always

the first card received

 

covered with

renaissance angels

 

or mary,

before the horror,

 

serene in

luminous blue

 

showing your love

of art your spiritual

 

yearning

then your

 

personal note

printed in

 

perfect script

as if wrist control

 

would take you

to grace

 

Published by

sanberdooboy

I've been writing mostly poetry for many years and have gotten a number of works accepted in publications and anthologies. I'm most interested in communicating with poets for whom craft is a high priority. I enjoy finding and commenting on poetic gems in other people's work. For my own work, I welcome polite comments, whether positive or critical.

17 thoughts on “the first week of december…”

  1. i’m not much of a critic, of my own or anyone else’s work. usually my comments or limited to “cool”, “love this,” etc., but i have to say this really strikes at me, viscerally. hard to read, but once read, hard to imagine not reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Feelings, memories,… these days of the year, I feel sad too because I remember most than ever… It is not easy I know, I can feel dear Michael. But life at the end, is a chance to carry their memories, their light, their existence for us, who stay behind them… Otherwise everything, everyone would have forgotten…. But do the people know that poet dies several times… Not easy. Your poetical touches made me cry too. I prayed. Thaank you dear Michael, Love, nia

    Liked by 1 person

    1. dear nia, i hope that you and your family are enjoying this time of year together. one of the things i am thankful for this year is being able to make contact with people all over the world through our blogs. it’s especially wonderful to enjoy your blog, always so full of color and beauty. even more important to me is to see your kindness and open-heartedness to people, their traditions and cultures from throughout the world. what you do with your blog is so important, showing us how we should behave during these times when there is so much hatred to be found (especially on the internet). thank you for all of your hard work and kindness.
      love,
      michael

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Dear Michael, this is your beautiful soul and you know the beauties can be seen only by beautiful people, Kindness is understood by kindfull people… We are all in the same boat and I do believe world will be better with all of us. It is same for me too, I am so happy to know you there, and to read your beautifully expressed and well experienced life touches in your poetical voyage. Days were good and nice for me with you all too, Thank you so much to be in my humble life. And million welcome too. Love, nia

    Like

  4. So beautiful and so sad, Michael. Very emotional and powerful. I love the image of the renaissance angels. I know a family who lost a son to suicide this holiday season, so this truly spoke to me. I hope you had an enjoyable holiday, and have a great New Year….

    Like

Leave a Reply

