i despise “bliss”…

and those narcissistic bores,

who search for it

in their perfect career, coffee,

or gluten-free casserole…

 

but then i ask

“what’s with me

again the scowler

so unblissed?”

 

and remember my love

of comforting babies my wish

to become mythic grandfather —

to hold sick ones, the wounded,

the frightened,

enfold them with lullabies

rock them as they fall asleep

into my arms slowly curling

 

Published by

sanberdooboy

I've been writing mostly poetry for many years and have gotten a number of works accepted in publications and anthologies. I'm most interested in communicating with poets for whom craft is a high priority. I enjoy finding and commenting on poetic gems in other people's work. For my own work, I welcome polite comments, whether positive or critical.

20 thoughts on “i despise “bliss”…”

    1. thank you, bonnie, for your lovely reply. our youngest daughter is due to have a child in a couple of weeks, so while writing this poem i was anticipating the holding and rocking. as for my “grandfather point of view,” i was thinking that the poem might serve as a tiny counter-balance to some of the highly publicized accounts of men doing terrible things.

      Like

    1. your second sentence provides an insight i had not thought of. but i’m not sure i could be “happy being miserable.” i do think that a life goal of “happiness” seems trivial, though. thanks so much for your thoughtful comment!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Yes. As I have aged I’ve learned to do just that, “to take things as they come.” (I’m writing this after reading about how so many beautiful Italian towns are being devastated by earthquakes.)

    Like

  2. Great perspective and word choice (“unbliss”). This poem was like sinking into a warm bath. I think bliss is in the continuous doing of something small but good every single day. I wonder if the progress towards that mythical destination of ultimate happiness is happiness in itself.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you for contacting The Writing Garden with a link to your blog some time ago, apologies for taking a long time to get back to you. In recent months I’ve had a lot more submissions than expected, it’s been taking me longer than expected to get through them all! I’d be very interested in publishing this lovely poem in the next issue for January/February if that would be okay with you?
    Suzy 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

