cats do it. dogs do it…

i don’t think that most of us ever get too old for romantic love, often depicted as only for the young.

i must credit the influence of cole porter’s witty lyrics from “Lets’ Fall in Love” on my title.

 

cats do it. dogs do it:

 

curl their paws in pleasure

when petted.

 

i have but hands and feet

yet need your touch

every day,

just as I yearn

for the wash of

solar warmth

on face and arms,

after the storms.

 

too long

without a warm encounter,

and something inside

begins to die.

 

i still need your touch,

every day, often,

and sometimes ache for it:

warm arms

around my neck,

your kind, soft hands

on my head, my face.

 

Published by

sanberdooboy

I've been writing mostly poetry for many years and have gotten a number of works accepted in publications and anthologies. I'm most interested in communicating with poets for whom craft is a high priority. I enjoy finding and commenting on poetic gems in other people's work. For my own work, I welcome polite comments, whether positive or critical.

7 thoughts on “cats do it. dogs do it…”

Leave a Reply

