Be Seeing You, Kid…

One barefoot morning last week I mashed

my big toe into a kitchen chair, inspiring me to

such depths of profanity that even I

was impressed at my facility with indelicacy,

and causing me to worry whether the hell

I can even see any more,

 

which led me to my one alloted thought

for the day: that I might not

clearly see you any more, either,

and not just because of my weakening eyes

that strain to see through their dark floating clouds

the potential pain of kitchen chairs and doors half-closed,

 

but because we lately spend so many hours together

that I am afraid my eyes might not

see the actual you in front of me.

So now I take the time to really look at you,

to see whether you are angry or pleased,

beaming or weeping, naughty or disinterested,

 

and I find that —

I love what I see.

 

Published by

sanberdooboy

I've been writing mostly poetry for many years and have gotten a number of works accepted in publications and anthologies. I'm most interested in communicating with poets for whom craft is a high priority. I enjoy finding and commenting on poetic gems in other people's work. For my own work, I welcome polite comments, whether positive or critical.

9 thoughts on “Be Seeing You, Kid…”

    1. i’m pleased to read that the audio file is effective. it’s just a bit more work, isn’t it? but it can add so much more meaning, as is clear with your blogs. i’m surprised that so few bloggers audio files. and thanks for your kind compliment. coming from such an accomplished poet, it means so much.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Aww…shucks…thank you. Recently I judged a high school “Poetry Out Loud” recitation contest. Each of seven young ones memorized two poems. Their comprehension and risk taking was grand. They understood about voicing.

        Like

    1. that’s an interesting question! i think that answering it might provoke a poem. i absolutely agree that the mind “is an inventor; a magician.” but i don’t know if i have ever fallen in love with someone i have never seen.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

