As for Living with Dark Matter…

According to the New York Times, astrophysicists have inferred the existence of “dark matter,” which, though transparent, seems to exert a gravitational force on celestial bodies, indicating its substantial mass.

Thus, when yesterday I suddenly

remembered an image from years ago

of a red line slowly etching its way,

straight and narrow

through deep ice, deep silence,

I felt once more the pull of darkness.

 

As with my brother,

who though a painter of desert light,

was pulled into a darkness

that only he could see.

 

The force

that crushes galaxies

extinguished him,

eventually.

 

 

Published by

sanberdooboy

I've been writing mostly poetry for many years and have gotten a number of works accepted in publications and anthologies. I'm most interested in communicating with poets for whom craft is a high priority. I enjoy finding and commenting on poetic gems in other people's work. For my own work, I welcome polite comments, whether positive or critical.

5 thoughts on “As for Living with Dark Matter…”

  1. I have a difficult time putting “Like” on some of these painful poems (the ‘black writing on the wall’ poem was another… loved the writing but felt the pain). So I seem to feel them, but poems are often repositories for our feelings, and look how effective you are at not only at conveying but… transferring. Here, I feel less anger (than in the former and others) and more an attempt to explain (as if science could), maybe an effect of the passage of time. Still raw though, still with power and those shards of disbelief: “a painter of… light,/… pulled into a darkness”! Such contrasts!
    (Less important, to me, but: I like the rhythm of the last stanza!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. i see what you mean about the awkwardness of “liking” a poem about a sad event. i do appreciate your very thoughtful comments. it’s interesting that you note the anger dissipating in the poems, a good sign for me, i think. and it’s good to read that you can see some craft in the poem. the last stanza was one of those fortunate accidents!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

