After Your Sudden Departure…

My youngest brother committed suicide not too long ago, and I’m still trying to absorb what happened. Sometimes I feel sad. Sometimes I feel angry (please reference the poem I posted earlier “Now That It Has Seeped Into Us,”)  although I  find my anger dissipating. Sometimes I feel lonely (please reference the next posting). Sometimes I feel as if I need bitter humor: 

 

After Your Sudden Departure…

 

I dreamed you drove your hot-fast Fiat into Hades,

blasted past the toll booth over the new bridge,

where boat-keeper Charon shook his bony fists

as your turbos howled over the River Styx,

 

then you stomped the gas when spotting Cereberus

the gate-keeper, its three dog-monster heads

snapping too late as you sped beneath its gut,

to where the damned suicides drift, in Hell’s seventh ring.

 

Then you just had to disturb the shades’ self-pity

throwing the Fiat into a power-slide,

when Dante did then admire the color of your car:

of blood and Ferraris and open scars.

 

Published by

sanberdooboy

I've been writing mostly poetry for many years and have gotten a number of works accepted in publications and anthologies. I'm most interested in communicating with poets for whom craft is a high priority. I enjoy finding and commenting on poetic gems in other people's work. For my own work, I welcome polite comments, whether positive or critical.

One thought on “After Your Sudden Departure…”

  1. Whoa. I really like this, though “like” doesn’t seem the proper word to use, or word to say… but this is very powerful. The emotions and driving metaphor are controlled, but barely. I especially am in awe of the last five lines.
    I am so sorry for your loss. We have depths from which to draw, however often with unbearable pain and sorrow. ~ Peri

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

