Surprise! I Am Dead!

Here I take on yet another persona and explore how he or she would react in a particular situation. Hopefully the poem will insult every reader, at least a little (come on you Barry Manilow fans)!

 

Surprise! I Am Dead!

But it turns out that

there is life, sort of,

after death,

so I find myself

on a cumulus maximus,

standing before a gate,

sort of worried

about being denied entry

‘cause, you know,

I had a problematic relationship

with church and

simply didn’t attend

for many years, and then

there were doubts if

when I did attend

that it was, you know,

the “right” one?

And that as a kid

I looked at mags

with naked women in them

and then much later rejected

Ronald Reagan as my savior

and I never confessed to anyone

that I loved Barry Manilow’s

work, especially “Mandy,”

and late in life

I was sorely tempted to play golf.

So it turns out that in front of the

Heavenly Gates wasn’t St. Peter but

the IBM 603, as big as a big room,

and it was God, baby,

with hundreds of

tape reels spinning

and small lights twittering

just like in the low-budget

science fiction flicks

I watched at two a.m.,

and when I approached

His Holiness, the machine,

I had to sign in first

but couldn’t remember

my Amazon user name

making me desperate

and hot with frustration.

Before I knew it

my soul was downloaded

to the entrance of a Walmart,

the hell of

diminished expectations

for damned American souls,

where I will be greeting

customers for eternity.

Published by

sanberdooboy

I've been writing mostly poetry for many years and have gotten a number of works accepted in publications and anthologies. I'm most interested in communicating with poets for whom craft is a high priority. I enjoy finding and commenting on poetic gems in other people's work. For my own work, I welcome polite comments, whether positive or critical.

2 thoughts on “Surprise! I Am Dead!”

Leave a Reply

