Blue Groove Mornings

My history with jazz dates back to junior high school years. In high school I listened to Miles Davis’s album Kind of Blue so many times that I memorized each note, and those be-bop “cats” played a lot of notes! Miles Davis helped me to survive some tough times.

I wrote “Blue Groove Mornings” not too long ago, trying to comprehend the deaths of my two younger brothers, one by suicide, within the past year. I became angry with myself. But I got some help from a mental health counselor.

 

Blue Groove Mornings…

 

Most mornings.

Blue the texture

of my world.

 

Evoked by Bill Evans:

smoky piano recorded

in some dive,

the bass plucked slow

and low.

 

When you look

into my blue eyes,

you see my blues.

 

So, time to riff

on a new tune,

to im`provise:

 

anything goes

any` thing goes

any thing` goes

anything goes`

and goes`

and` goes

sha boom`

pop` pop`

sha` wa boom`

ta pop` pop` pop`

 

“birds flyin’ high,

you know how i feel,…

feelin’ good,”

Nina Simone singing

my new anthem

 

Published by

sanberdooboy

I've been writing mostly poetry for many years and have gotten a number of works accepted in publications and anthologies. I'm most interested in communicating with poets for whom craft is a high priority. I enjoy finding and commenting on poetic gems in other people's work. For my own work, I welcome polite comments, whether positive or critical.

Leave a Reply

